09:00 -18:00 açıqdır icon_widget_image Bakı şəhəri, N.Nərimanov rayonu Əli Əşrəf Əlizadə 61 küç icon_widget_image (+994 55) 220-50-88 (+994 50) 278-00-10 icon_widget_image [email protected]

  /  News   /  The winners of the 2022 Nobel Prize have been announced

The winners of the 2022 Nobel Prize have been announced

The winners of this year’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry have been announced. American and Danish chemists Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Morten Meldal and K. Barry Sharpless won the 2022 Nobel Prize in Chemistry this year.

It was reported that the chemists were awarded the prize “For the development of click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry”.

Carolyn R. Bertozzi
American chemist. He is known for his extensive work covering both chemistry and biology. He coined the term “bioorthogonal chemistry” for chemical reactions compatible with living systems. His recent efforts include synthesizing chemical tools to study cell surface sugars, called glycans, and how they affect diseases such as cancer, inflammation and viral infections like COVID-19.

She holds the Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professorship in the School of Humanities and Sciences at Stanford University. Bertozzi is also a Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) researcher and former director of the Molecular Foundry, a nanoscience research center at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

Morten Meldal
Meldal earned his BA and PhD degrees in Chemical Engineering from the Technical University of Denmark (DTU); his doctoral work was supervised by Klaus Bock and focused on the synthetic chemistry of oligosaccharides. In 1983-1988, he worked as an independent researcher in the field of organic chemistry at DTU and Copenhagen University. In 1985 and 1986, he received postdoctoral studies at the University of Cambridge; He was a post-doctoral fellow in the Molecular Biology Laboratory at the Medical Research Council Centre. In 1996, he was appointed as an associate professor at DTU. He has been leading the synthesis group in the Carlsberg Laboratory Chemistry Division since 1998, and since 1997 he has been president of the Center for Solid-Phase Organic Chemistry and Enzymatic Reactions (SPOCC).

Early in his career, Meldal developed various technological techniques and tools for peptide synthesis. He developed multi-column synthesis used in peptide and organic synthesis devices, and also collected large libraries of fragmented mixtures. He first introduced the (cycloaddition) of acetylenes and azides, which are used in peptide and protein synthesis, polymers, and materials science. Meldal’s group later showed that this reaction is completely orthogonal to most functional group chemistries. They then developed robust scaffolds that facilitate the integration of solid-phase peptide and peptide organochemistry with solid-phase chemical biology and protein chemistry.
K. Barry Sharpless
American chemist. He received his bachelor’s degree from Dartmouth College in 1963 and his doctorate from Stanford University in 1968. After receiving his doctorate, he continued his studies at Stanford University and Harvard University. He was awarded an honorary degree from the Technical University of Munich.

He worked as a professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Stanford University. He is currently a professor of chemistry at The Scripps Research Institute.
He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2001 “for his work on stereoselective oxidation reactions”. He shared this award with William S. Knowles and Ryoji Noyori, who received the award “for their work on stereoselective hydrogenation reactions.”

Post a Comment